Yogi Adityanath now CM with longest unbroken tenure in UP | Lucknow News


LUCKNOW: After setting the record of becoming the first chief minister of Uttar Pradesh to be re-elected after completing a full five-year term and breaking the Noida jinx, Yogi Adityanath became the CM to have had the longest unbroken stint in the state after Independence.
On Tuesday, Yogi completed 5 years and 347 days in the office, beating the record of Dr Sampurnanand of Congress who served as the UP CM for 5 years and 345 days from 1954 to 1960. BSP’s Mayawati was the first CM after Sampurnanand to last the full term. But the duration of her tenure between 2007 and 2012 was 4 years 307 days after which her party was voted out.
Next CM, SP’s Akhilesh Yadav, too, served the full term and the duration of his tenure was 5 years and 4 days after which BJP swept the poll in 2017 and Yogi became the chief minister. In March 2022, the BJP won a historic consecutive mandate under Yogi in UP and he continued to be the CM.
The state’s first CM, Govind Ballabh Pant, had the longest uninterrupted run in the region, but between April 1, 1946 January 23, 1950, he was the chief minister of United Provinces. His tenure as the UP CM started on January 24, 1950 and lasted till December 28, 1954 (4 years 336 days), after which he became the Union home minister.
As far as the cumulative tenure is concerned, Mayawati, who served as the UP CM four times, leads with a total run of over seven years. Mulayam Singh Yadav, with three terms as the CM, served for a little under seven years.
Earlier, Yogi Adityanath had also broken the Noida jinx of previous UP CMs — that visiting the district meant that the incumbent and their party were not voted back to power. Yogi visited the district over a dozen times in his previous tenure and returned as the UP CM for a second historic time in March 2022.
“Due to his vision, the CM broke the Noida jinx. It was believed in UP that if a CM visited Noida, he or she would lose their seat. Due to this fear, many CMs never visited Noida, However, in the past six years, Yogi Adityanath must have visited Noida at least 25 times and also took oath as CM for the second time on March 25, 2022,” a government spokesperson said.
UP CMs with over 3 years’ of continuous run
Yogi Adityanath (BJP) — 5 years 347 days (serving) — 2017-23
Dr Sampurnanand (Cong) — 5 years 345 days — 1954-60
Akhilesh Yadav (SP) — 5 years 4 days — 2012-17
GB Pant (Cong) — 4 years 336 days — 1950-54
Mayawati (BSP) — 4 years 307 days — 2007-12
MS Yadav (SP) — 3 years 257 days — 2003-2007


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *