Maharashtra assembly passes resolution on border row with Karnataka | Nagpur News


NEW DELHI: Maharashtra assembly on Tuesday unanimously passed a resolution over the border dispute with neighbouring Karnataka. Chief minister Eknath Shinde moved the resolution.
According to the resolution, Maharashtra govt will make all necessary legal pursuits in the Supreme Court to include Belgaum, Karvar, Nipani, Bhalki, Bidar cities & 865 Marathi-speaking villages of Karnataka in Maharashtra under any circumstances.
“Central govt should urge the Karnataka govt to implement the decision taken in the meeting with the Union home minister and govt should be given an understanding to guarantee the safety of the Marathi people in the border areas,” the resolution further adds.
Earlier today, deputy chief minister Devendra Fadnavis Targeted former CM and Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) leader Uddhav Thackeray for requesting the Central government to declare “the disputed areas” as a Union Territory, Fadnavis said, “I was surprised that those who spoke yesterday, he did nothing for 2.5 years as CM. The border dispute did not start after our government came to power.”
He further said that the previous government in the state is making the Eknath Shidne government responsible for the border dispute which is going on for years.
The border dispute between Maharashtra and Karnataka goes back to the implementation of the State Reorganization Act, of 1956. The then Maharashtra government had demanded the readjustment of its border with Karnataka.
Following this, a four-member committee was formed by both states.
The Maharashtra government had expressed willingness to transfer 260 predominantly Kannada-speaking villages, but the proposal was turned down by Karnataka.
Both governments later approached the Supreme Court to expedite the matter.
With inputs from ANI


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *